Login (sign up)
Username Password

Latest Comments
Latest Forum Posts
Topic on Waxin'
May 5, 2008 by Kingyo

I was wondering, many of you guys use the stuff to wax rail but have you guys ever tried waxing the grind plates of SOAPs? If so, does it work just as well?

I'd love to get your thoughts on that. =)
Replies

May 5, 2008sam

Nah, waxing your grindplates just builds up residue on them, plus it wont last as long. Its much better to just wax the surface your grinding.

May 5, 2008Franticfred

ya sam is right... and i just use candle wax at a local drugstore...works great and i can get 5 candles to $2.00

May 5, 2008xJeremiahx

Putting wax on the grinding surface is much better.

If you put wax on your grind plate the wax will wear off within the first couple feet of grinding.

May 5, 2008Sakkage

I'm new at soaping. I picked up some gulf wax the other day- I've been grinding on this peice of finished wood from a loft bed, and various ledges around town until my PR comes in (expected tomorrow!). The wood started getting pretty torn up, so i waxed that, and its a much smoother grind now.

May 5, 2008AnthoFlex

Wax usually works a lot better on ledges. In my own experience, waxing up rails usually leads to a build up that slows you down

May 6, 2008Kingyo

Ok so wax is mainly used on rough textured ledges... let's say for example... stairs made out of concrete? So it's not really necessary on smooth rails and if too much wax is being put, it just slows down the grinding?

Interesting to know. As for wax residue build ups, don't you get some even if you grind on a waxed rail or ledge?

May 6, 2008Spano565

Very little, if that none.(The wax resiidue i mean.) It's because you would be directly waxing the grindplate.It's different if you wax the surface test it out for yourself if your still curious.

May 6, 2008AnthoFlex

my bad, after reading spano and kingyo's comment, i have no idea whats being asked. Whats the question?

May 6, 2008AnthoFlex